(Gnome) Tank for Life


It’s just pixels right?
January 29, 2010, 10:20
Filed under: gear, real-life, thought

I am, of course, referring to in-game items. Have you ever felt that despite WoW itself being an arbitrary non-reality, the things you acquire in this non-reality can and do affect your mood in real life?

The first time this happened to me way back in Vanilla WoW, after weeks of farming for [Foror’s Compendium of Dragon Slaying], and more weeks of trying I finally managed to temper that blade and pick up my Quel’Serrar. The following day my thoughts were primarily occupied with how I’m going to put it to use, what i’ll enchant it with, and generally how bad it will be tanking with one of the best looking and geared tank-swords in the game. And I was happy happy happy throughout the day, my only worry was not being able to explain to others why.

Then when I finally grabbed my first ever proto-drake from a Mysterious Egg (and I longed for a proto-drake, ANY proto-drake since Wotlk came out), the next day I would be cheerful at everyone at work and at home, with thoughts drifting back to my new mount every hour or so.

So finally I am getting very close to being able to craft the Ashen Verdict tank legs, which I have saved up for since before 3.3 even came out and I first heard about the material requirements. I have driven my alts mercilessly, almost all of them almost everyday to the brink of exhaustion in order to get enough saronite and  it will all pay off this evening. Yet again I find myself thinking about how nice it’ll be to grab another BiS item, how nice it’ll be to gem it, how much AP and EH will the extra armor offer, etc. In general, all the work I’ve put into making the thing without spending 20.000 gold on it (which I wouldn’t have anyway) will have come to an end after 1 last daily tonight. And it feels good. The fact that it’s Friday may also play some part in this, but my day is already made 😉

I guess it would seem somewhat strange to feel joy elevated by something that’s practically non-existant. Then again, often a simple idea, a picture, a sound or tune achieves the same result and nobody will find anything strange about it. I guess a little bit of it ties into Larísa’s take on the values we attach to in-game items, achievements, characters, guilds. After all everything begins with an idea in the human mind.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

