(Gnome) Tank for Life


WoW Haiku
February 19, 2010, 11:52
Filed under: philosophical, thought

Haiku: a form of Japanese poetry, spread around the world mainly in the last 100 years.

It is impossible to single out any current style, format, or subject matter as definitive. Some of the more common practices in English include:

  • Use of three lines of up to 17 syllables;
  • Use of a season word (kigo);
  • Use of a cut or kire (sometimes indicated by a punctuation mark) to implicitly compare two images.

From Wikipedia

Another not-really-tanking-related post, but at least some of these are on the subject of tanking.
There was a WoW Haiku ‘thread’ started over at the WoW sub-Reddit and going over some of the entries inspired me to look back on a some earlier Wow-related haikus I have read. When we talk about urban-theme Haiku these days (and most other times when people are looking to compose), it is generally accepted to obey a simple 5/7/5 syllable format and to keep the subject of the poem specific, in this case WoW.  I decided to not give credit here because I’m lazy, but my post-thanks go out to the original authors. So without further ado, here are my favourite finds in no particular order:

Tried to PvP
I am so invincible
When they ignore me

Spell Plate keeps dropping
RNG Wants me to heal
I cry for more stam

Female tanks are rare
We tank as well as the boys
Even in high heels

I love you so dear
when you misdirect to me
Threat spikes are so nice

Random Dungeon Time
Look, a death knight tank in greens
This will end poorly

What is a tank, then?
Invulnerable? No, sir!
We bleed just the same

Don’t look so smug, I
know what you’re thinking, But it
was just a set-back!

Rogue appears behind
You cannot do that while stunned
Winds weep soft sorrow

Hard, dark cavern’s damp
A hunted warrior’s shout
Dead, fell the spider.

Juicy Envelope
Your innards I do await
Ah, auction failed

We began Warsong Gulch
with high hopes and a premade
That was yesterday

Snow is pure and white
Winterspring is beautiful
A Yeti killed me

Tauren are not beasts
Forsaken are not undead
Gnomes are not critters

Hit the ground running,
Die at the flightmaster’s feet…
Bloodsail hat worth it?

Five days straight of WoW
Constipated, I still play
Where did my wife go..

Sources:

http://www.reddit.com/r/wow/comments/awprj/wow_haiku/
http://www.wowhead.com/?blog=81403
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=16904206978&sid=1
http://thottbot.com/v3859772

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

